Lunch Post

Standard

Beef and pork tacos…that’s what I fixed for lunch.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/weekly-writing-challenge-lunch-posts/

I was waiting on my husband to come in from outside. He was in the hog barn, cleaning it out to make room for the mothers who haven’t farrowed yet. He told me he might be out there a while, and to go ahead and eat without him. So, I did.

And, since I love recipes, I’ll share my lunch recipe with you. I make my own taco seasoning, and mix it in with the raw meat before frying in a skillet. It might sound weird, but this is exactly what sausage is….flavored ahead of cooking, and it seems to give the meat a deeper flavor.

Taco seasoning

for two pounds of meat…I used 1 pound ground beef, and one pound ground pork.

  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried minced onion
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons garlic salt
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 3/4 teaspoon crushed beef bouillon cube
  • 1/4 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • dash onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • black pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in small bowl….I add a little water to “melt” the beef bouillon, then mix in the meat. Fry it till no longer pink, and drain.
I use corn tortillas, and fry them in hot oil, then daub them off with paper towels.  But you can use flour tortillas, or crispy corn shells, or even use the meat in a taco salad…Add sharp cheddar cheese, salsa, lettuce, etc. YUM!

He did finally get done cleaning out the barn, and came in for tacos. I sat and visited with him even though I’d already eaten….Oh, and he took a shower before he ate, otherwise, his face was so dirty I couldn’t see it! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Lunch Post

Leave a Reply

